<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
<rss version="2.0" xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/" xmlns:wikidot="http://www.wikidot.com/rss-namespace">

	<channel>
		<title>Porn Site technique used to promote OOXML</title>
		<link>http://www.noooxml.org/forum/t-49321/porn-site-technique-used-to-promote-ooxml</link>
		<description>Posts in the discussion thread &quot;Porn Site technique used to promote OOXML&quot; - OOXML supporters anonymously registered a domain similar to the Document Freedom Day domain in order to, much like many Porn sites, exploit user confusion and to fool visitors into their site.</description>
				<copyright></copyright>
		<lastBuildDate></lastBuildDate>
		
					<item>
				<guid>http://www.noooxml.org/forum/t-49321#post-132257</guid>
				<title>Porn Site technique used to promote OOXML</title>
				<link>http://www.noooxml.org/forum/t-49321/porn-site-technique-used-to-promote-ooxml#post-132257</link>
				<description></description>
				<pubDate>Thu, 27 Mar 2008 01:49:53 +0000</pubDate>
				<wikidot:authorName>RuiSeabra</wikidot:authorName>				<wikidot:authorUserId>27320</wikidot:authorUserId>				<content:encoded>
					<![CDATA[
						 <p>In March 26, 2008, was celebrated around the world the first <a href="http://www.documentfreedom.org/">Document Freedom Day (http://www.documentfreedom.org/)</a>. Notice the site's name: Document Freedom <strong>dot org</strong>.</p> <p>While refusing all around the world to participate in a celebration towards the promotion and usage of open standards, Microsoft even goes to the point of issuing a <a href="http://sol.sapo.pt/PaginaInicial/Sociedade/Interior.aspx?content_id=85916">press release in Portugal</a> <strong>against</strong> <a href="http://ansol.org/">ANSOL</a>'s Document Freedom Day <a href="http://blog.softwarelivre.sapo.pt/2008/03/16/convivio-no-dfd/">announcement</a>.</p> <p>Meanwhile, anonymous supporters of OOXML use <a href="http://domainsbyproxy.com">Domains by Proxy</a> registar in order to register a site with a <strong>very similar</strong> address of Document Freedom Day's. The OOXML support site is <a href="http://www.documentfreedomday.com">Document Freedom Day **dot com**</a> and redirects to a well known astroturf site which pretends to be a community of OOXML supporters.</p> <p>This technique is a redirection scam which, according to the <a href="http://oii.org/html/definitions.html">explanation given by the Online Internet Institute</a>, takes place</p> <ul> <li>when you go to one URL and are <strong>automatically transferred to another URL</strong>. It further explains that it</li> <li><strong>doesn't always send you to a porn or gambling site</strong> and that</li> <li>it could be a scam to <strong>lure you to places you had never intended to go.</strong></li> </ul> <p>Which is clearly the case here: to confuse users who expect to check out the <a href="http://www.documentfreedom.org/">Document Freedom Day</a> event page, and lure them into their own OOXML astroturf site.</p> 
				 	]]>
				</content:encoded>							</item>
				</channel>
</rss>